How to Write Your Personal Statement | Massimo Peluso

I remember writing my personal statement and how long it took! In this blog post, I will be discussing writing your personal statement and the best advice I can give.

My first tip is to write down notes of everything you have achieved, that you believe is important to discuss and is RELEVANT to your university course. This will be qualifications, work experience (unpaid/paid), volunteering, sporting certificates, and more. I can’t stress this enough: make it relevant! It’s good to include extra-curricular activities, but keep it brief – it gives the admissions team an idea of who you are but not what sort of student you will be, therefore keep it short and sweet.

Secondly, get as many people to read it as possible – you will be bias and may miss errors. Spelling, punctuation and grammar is important and will stick out if it is wrong!

Lastly, use as many sources as possible – have you read a book? Have you read a news story? A study? Include it! This shows that you do more than learn at school, you take it further and do further research.

WATCH MY VIDEO https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=PodYEfbyFgs – for more information.

My YouTube Video ^

Written by Massimo Peluso, BSc Psychology and Sociology student

Leave a comment